My Clever Kids

by stryson

So, two of my fourth grade boys have figured out that I write down quotes when someone says something funny during class. Of course, being total hams, these two boys have started a campaign to get written down as often as possible, and it’s making my life hilarious. It also made coming back to school after three days off a lot more pleasant.

Yes, that’s right, it’s only the beginning of November, and we’ve had 3 “snow” days. Our school, along with hundreds of thousands of other homes and businesses in northern New Jersey, lost power for the better part of the week. The upside is that we’re going to get those teaching days back. Originally, we were supposed to have a half day on Wednesday, and Thursday and Friday “off” for parent-teacher conferences. (I put the “off” in quotes because it’s the kids who would be off; we were scheduled for conferences from 8am-5pm.) However, the popular consensus was that conferences could be cancelled in favor of giving the students more time in the classroom. I’ll probably have to do a couple of phone conferences, but I don’t mind that. I’m just so relieved that we won’t fall further behind!

To wrap up, I’ll share a quote from one of the boys I mentioned up at the top of this entry. We were reading in Roald Dahl’s The Witches, and we got to the chapter that details the process of making the mouse maker potion. This young man asked if he could write down the ingredients, because: “I’m gonna make that for my brother!”

This from the same child that told me I couldn’t be a witch because they were described as “dressing normally.”

The best part is that there isn’t an ounce of sarcasm or hesitation when I say that I adore this kid, and it’s been so satisfying to see him grow into such a smart little jokester. He could barely hold a conversation when I first met him… and the transformation he’s made is representative of exactly what is satisfying about my job.

Leave a Reply

