R-E-S-P-E-C-T

by stryson

By and large, I don’t like to get into politics on here, or in real life, for that matter. My primary purposes in writing this blog are to catalog useful resources  for the classroom, to muse on educational theory, and to lighten things up with amusing student quotes.  However, things aren’t always rosy in the life of a teacher, and they’ve been particularly less than ideal of late. I teach in a private school, so my personal concerns are a little different than those of public school teachers, at least in specifics, but many of the same themes carry across. For me, yes, money is an issue. Yes, benefits are an issue. However, they remain secondary to my complete dismay at the lack of respect teachers receive. I have my own laundry list of theories as to the origin of this disrespect, but my lovely husband sent me a link today to a blog entry that examines this phenomenon more systematically and eloquently than I think I can from inside the fray.  The link is here: Teacher Bashing 101.  I must add a disclaimer, of course, that I have not yet read anything else on his site, so don’t come back with metaphorical pitchforks and torches if you find things you dislike. Respectful comments (even if they are from an opposing viewpoint), are always welcomed, however.

One Comment to “R-E-S-P-E-C-T”

  1. Thanks for the link and the comments.

    If you liked my post on the state of teacher bashing in America, you’ll probably like my other stuff (or not).

    New readers to Stonekettle Station are advised that I do use coarse language (though none in the post linked to above), I am a retired Navy Sailor after all.

    Again, thank you for the link and the comments. I’m always interested in hearing from teachers, and I hope that I’ve made my own proud///Jim Wright/Stonekettle Station.

Leave a comment